A successful Author who many of us know


Good Day!

Hello. Excited to be doing another Hubber Interview. So much so, because Rolly is an author in the truest sense of the word. He is talented, persistent, consistent, loyal, and most of all true to his word. Of all the great characteristics in Rolly, I enjoy his friendship because he really is a decent, kind, loving man. All which pores through his work. I’m not sure if he even realizes howrefreshing it is to read ‘work of truth’. Must add he is also a fellow Canadian.

I have followed ‘Quill’ and Rolly for a few years now and always find peace and a place to exhale when I read his work. Rolly thank you for that and for taking the time out of your must-be busy schedule to do this interview for our followers.

OK if I had to confess, I am also trying to get him to get me a top notch I Pad, but this is just the warm up- *wink *.

Having said that, Let’s get into this!

See all 3 photos

First section-fun and personal

1.What are 5 things we should know about you?

Good morning Kimberly thank you for the opportunity to be involved in doing this project with you. You have always been an inspiration to many and this is indeed a privilege.

Wow..! Five things:

1) First and foremost my faith. Even though there are times when it falters it is always there. It has sustained me over the years and has brought me through some very difficult times.

2) Next would have to be a love for people, who they are and what they come to mean to me because of many over the years. I have found a new appreciation of the seeds they have sown into my life.

3) My love of nature and all it has to offer. I mean really she presents herself pure and without flaw and is willing to teach in all ways. There is so much to be learned and yet all we need to do is take the time. I spent several years in close relationship with the Northern Cree Indians in an isolated community. They were willing to share a great deal with me after the trust and respect had been established. It was here I learned to appreciate nature and what she spoke.

4) I have always had a passion for adventure. Even as a young child with an imagination to seek out the unknown. At one time to try the unusual was a must and the bonus was to be able to survive and tell about it. On the wild side, Scuba Diving, High-speed motorcycles, Stock Car Racing, Sky Diving were a part of the adventure. Fly Fishing, Photography, Hiking throughout the Northern wilderness spending vast amounts of time alone and living in the far North of Canada was actually living a dream. I must add some of these have been very foolish yet all a part of growing up. My excuse is I never had any toys when I was a kid so I was allowed to live on the edge.

5) My background has been varied in the work force. Underground Mining, Logging, Oil Drilling in the High Arctic, Construction on many of the Northern Hydro Projects, IC of a large Security Force servicing Northern Camps, Owner Operator of Yukon Security Police, Contract Prospecting for Gold in the Yukon, Contract Researcher for Wildlife Management. The list does go on some things I would sooner not mention. Gene

rally speaking I followed the high paying jobs to support my lifestyle.

I returned back to College at the age of 42 and pursued and obtained degrees in Turf Management, Golf Course Design and Construction, Plant Pathology, Horticulture and Arboriculture and Acqua Culture. I worked in the industry for a few years and opened my own Landscape Consulting Company. The last few years I worked as a Managing Director of Operations at a large Christian College.

I remarried after many years of being single.

In 2008 I was ordained as a Pastor.

One might say I have been through the mill in many ways but I like to think of it as “The roads I have travelled have brought me to where I have arrived today.”

2. What is your favourite hobby?

A favorite hardly seems like a fair question, as there are so many. Over the years I have set them aside saying I will do them when I retire. I have renamed the word retirement into the term Refirement. I know it is not a real word but when we reach what some call the Golden Years there is much to do. A favorite hobby, well a few actually if I may. Fly Fishing, Woodcarving, Photography come to mind.

3. Which planet aside from earth would you choose to live on?

I love to spend time looking at the moon on a clear night with a powerful lens. There is something captivating about the moon but earth would always be home. Of course there is always the dream.

4. How do you spend your relaxation time?

Many ways really, Fly Fishing, reading, gardening, creating new flowerbeds and spending time with anyone willing to have a chat. There is always a story to be heard or often to be told.

5. Which is your favourite bubblegum?

That would have to be Double Bubble. The original with the comics inside.

6. What type of area and dwelling do you live in?

Farming community, oil and gas reserves, cattle and horses and right on the edge of the mountains a personal playground. The dwelling is a newer two-story home with an attached garage. It has been fully developed upstairs and down with two large decks front and back and a massive yard that is need of some creative landscaping. I need a new yellow sticky now as I have been keeping notes of all the “To Do’s.”

7. Do you wear hats often and which is your favourite?

Not often and if I do it is a wide brimmed fishing hat as I drift down the river. You see I have a lack of hair on the top of my head. I like to think I have grown to tall for protective hair. The downside is now it grows out of my ears and nose.

8. Do you own an I pad?

Certainly do an IPad 3. Of course it is fully loaded and I do love the versatility. I just printed off a 150-page manual for the thing and discover new revolutionary advantages daily.

9. Are you a mac or PC user?

I switched over completely a few years ago and there are two 27″ iMacs, a Mac Book Pro, a few ipods and now an iPad. You might say I love Mac. I still have an old PC. There is still a little kid in me I would hate to part with. it is a monster gaming computer that I built over the years.

10. Do you exercise, if so, how? If not, what is your alternative (ie; couch surfing)

Not enough as I glance down at this pot I have developed. Spring has arrived so the excuses have all died. Winter months I shuffle my feet side to side while I write and oh yes my two fingers I write with have gone many miles. I have even incorporated my thumb on the space bar. My left arm is stronger than my right because it is the one that reaches for the coffee. Does that count…? I know, I know, I need to get into a routine. The expensive and very heavy treadmill in the garage has been calling all winter.

um……..Do you aspire to be like kimberlyslyrics on HubPages?She is a keeper that girl. One of the first to find Quill and she has been a faithful follower and supporter. I might add she is a very accomplished writer who is published on Smashwords and just in the process of shaking the Amazon world as well. Aspire is a big word “Try” is more like the word I would use. If you want a good friend and faithful follower people hook up with this girl. Her poetry and writing will touch you deeply.er……………….How many Hubs have you written on HubPages and would you be kind enough to provide us with ten Hub links hat you would be proud to highlight of your work?Over the years under the entire persona’s I would estimate there to be close to 450. Sadly through my own stupidity they have been closed out. Did you hear the resounding slap… listen close here it is again.I do have 51 new ones under my own name. If I were to choose 10 then they would be…

http://rollyachabot.hubpages.com/hub/Dad-and-His-Heart

http://rollyachabot.hubpages.com/hub/The-Quiet-shared

http://rollyachabot.hubpages.com/hub/Alone-Chapter-One

http://rollyachabot.hubpages.com/hub/The-Colourful-5-Part-One

http://rollyachabot.hubpages.com/hub/The-Colourful-5-Part-One

http://rollyachabot.hubpages.com/hub/The-Colourful-5-Volume-Two

http://rollyachabot.hubpages.com/hub/Heart-Writing

http://rollyachabot.hubpages.com/hub/-Paddlewheelers-of-The-Yukon

http://rollyachabot.hubpages.com/hub/Not-a-Man

http://rollyachabot.hubpages.com/hub/The-Art-of-Fly-Fishing

Section Two-Author highlights

1. You are an established and successful author, that many of us are not aware of. When did you publish your first book and what was it? Is it still accessible and how can we find it?

“The Quiet” was the first released on May 7, 2011. I suppose the best way to tell you where to find it is to give you a link. All the books are only available presently in an eBook format. Presently I have been working with a Canadian Publisher who has shown a great deal of interest and it is looking promising a few may be available in paper back soon.

http://www.amazon.com/Rolly-A.-Chabot/e/B005HFAYGI

2. You have published many books. What are they and may we have the links where to purchase them.

I have now published 14 books. The first seven were written as a series I have called “Quiet Reflections.” They were written in an Autobiographic format during the years I battled addiction and include the many people who planted seeds into me of wisdom and love.

After they were completed I found myself being led into the fiction genre incorporating and building around characters and the story unfolded. These have become full novels of 50 to 60,000 words. One is a two book series called Smoothwolf and the other a three book series called “Checkers Corner. There are also two single novels.

As well a link to my personal website which is dire need of update:

http://web.me.com/woodcarver2009/Site/About_Me.html

3. It is my understanding you have just published another book. Can we highlight it here with your description and possible inspiration about writing it?

Kimberly I think the inspiration for this novel and the two preceding it would come for the love and respect I have for nature, the wolf and my fellow man. It was again built around a main character his pain and his loss at the time. As I wrote the story, the people and places just afforded yet another in the series and it spanned over several years and generations. Once started it was hard to stop as silly as it may seem.

The second main character is about the life of a wild wolf named Checkers. I have spent many a day observing and spending time in close proximity of wolves in the Yukon. Sadly they have been painted with a very bad brush over the years. I had the privilege of having an older lone male wolf that lived near my cabin. I suppose the steady supply of moose bones attracted him to me. We formed a bond that I would say was held at a distance. There was many a day we would sit on a sunny hillside like a couple of old friends me speaking in a soft tone. Him at a safe distance of 15 feet. To me it was amazing.

4. Do you have a favourite book you have published and why?

The Checkers Corner series I would need to say because of the experiences and memories it raised of my time in the far north and being so in touch with nature. I think back now at the span of those months it took to write the 200,000 words and the attachment to the characters was a great training ground for learning.

5. Are there other links that will bring us to see your books, even the newest that you could share with us here? (Facebook etc.)

I have created a new Facebook page that is still in the process of growing. It has a brief bio of each book as well as an excerpt from each and comments and suggestions are always welcome. Love to have anyone visit and say hello.

https://www.facebook.com/RollyAChabot

6. How often do you write, understanding any writer writes when inspired, specifically how much of your time do you find is dedicated to writing?

A difficult question as it depends on the inspiration level. I do write daily I have set a minimum level of 3000 words per day I like to keep. I find it keeps me fresh. I get inspired late at night or early in the morning and sometimes my internal clock has a conflict and the computer questions who is the guy at the keyboard today.

7. Where is your inspiration pulled from and what inspires you most?

Just in sharing what I have put together. Hopefully there are some life lessons people can take to heart and apply them to a conflict they can relate to in life. Not that I think I have become this great guru sitting in a Yoga position but maybe there may be a spark and hopefully some healing in someone’s life can take place through a few simple words.

8. How difficult is it to publish and do you have Ebooks or paper? What are your feelings or views about Ebooks taking over our publishing industry?

As I mentioned for the time being for me eBooks are the format. After a terribly bad experience with a so called reputable or shall I say want to be publisher I became a little gun shy. Choose your publisher well and do your homework unlike what I did. Learn what you can and do your homework. A good rule of thumb is enter the name of the publisher and the individual you are dealing with as well as + sign and the words scam or fraud or rip off and do your own research. For any new and aspiring author most publishers as a general rule will promise you the world and convenience in the process it will cost you vast amounts of money. The recovery rate on your return will be slow in coming back you.

I do think we are entering into the age and a generation where people do want to keep their personal libraries on their PDA devices or home computers. For me it is a case of connivance. I have a personal library of books I should count that has expanded from one room out into my home. Yet the Kindle I have would hold them all.

If my advice would be worth anything I would go the route of the eBook market to begin with and test the market first. It requires you do a great deal of marketing on your own but in the process you will learn a great deal that will be invaluable later.

9. Any regrets of what you have published and possibly un-published? Secondly, why do you believe you were given the talent to write?

Kimberly over the years I have always been known to shoot from the hip so to speak. I have been backed into a corner a few times over some hubs I have written. Even though they were flagged by someone they were allowed to remain. To find a happy medium and not offend someone is task at the best of times.

As far as unpublished any books no I never have. Well does that count my own stupidity by losing a hard drive on an old PC laptop and not having a back up. If so I have unpublished.

Talent well I suppose the end result comes in readership and one can gauge it that way. If it is gauged in sales well that is another means. Writing is ever evolving and a constant struggle to place words and characters in a fashion that attract readers. To me talent comes with years of practicing a craft. Hopefully I have a few years left. Maybe I can answer that one better then.

10. What is next for Rolly in publishing? Anything in the works now? And finally is there anything at all you can share with us that you feel a need to, in any area?

I have been working on a novel this past month or so that is coming together nicely called “The Fallen Barn”. I suppose it could be said it is about a man who has been to prison for a crime, served his full 17 years time and is in the process of rebuilding his broken life.

This I feel is an area we all need to look at, granting those who have failed and redeemed themselves trough paying for the crime and integrating themselves back into society. I have known a few over the years. Yes there are some who will always live a life of crime but maybe part of the reason they return to it is because we are not a very forgiving society.

Do all authors wear these kind of socks when writing?
Thank you Rolly for taking the time to do this as busy as you are.
The full interview can be found on Hubpages.
2 responses to “A successful Author who many of us know

Leave a Reply

Mythbroakia

STAY MYSTIFIED!

julie chicklitasaurus

RAWResome books, stories & ideas for women

Just a tad more than Mounties, Beavers and Maple Syrup

Canada needs to stick out..one website at a time

STATEMENT TORONTO

WHO'S WHO IN THE BIG SMOKE!

Steve Emmett

humanist, celebrant, writer, speaker

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

C3ns0rd's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Trainee Drug Boy

My thoughts and reflections of being a volunteer drug-worker and seeking employment

Press Flix

Press Flix provide updated podcast and app reviews on trending topics of technology, also opportunities to motivate and inspire a connected generation.

UltimateDollarClicks

We have some of the best offers in the industry with very good payout in our network that will help you generate more revenue from you existing or new traffic. We work directly with the merchants and bring you with latest and high payouts. If you have questions, please feel free to contact me. I have enclosed my contact information so you can send me your comments, suggestions, and inquiries at any time. I am really very excited to bring you on board and be part of fast growing network.

Discombobulated Musings of a Scorpio Diva

Inspired Creativity Expressed Through the Art of the Written Word

The Paleo Secret

Eating well and living well, just like you were built to! It's not a secret any more..

shopping 99

A fine WordPress.com site

The Window In The Basement

a writer's blog, by Jeff Ambrose

The Indie Book Writers Blog | Self Publishing | Get Published

Writing, Self Publishing, Book Marketing, Bookselling

