Scholastically challenged and a street scholar


School, I imagined from afar

How is education defined?

  • 0% textbook studies
  • 0% primarily reading
  • 100% through learning what other people share
  • 0% family guidance

1 person has voted in this poll.

Education

Education and knowledge can primarily be achieved by three means; academic learning in schools, home schooling or street lessons, on one’s own.

All ones individual choice as to which education they/we desire.

This was not my case. The last time I set foot in a classroom was at the age of 14 and I am now 45. Safe to say, my schooling was from life experience, in dozens of jobs, and on the streets. Especially in the early years.

Are we….

defined by what we do or how well we do it? Too profound for me. I actually believe we are defined by how we reconcile our wrongs, and what lessons we gain from them.

I have never believed in failure. Suppose I just see incidences as circumstances. Remembering some of my own, [actually too many] limited my choices and decisions that were made for me.

As drastic

in education, or that lack of, with such different in approaches, much of it does seem the same. Just an observation I have acquired.

Yet the differences in the result of knowledge from street, and scholastic learning, is also vastly different.

Everyone possesses some form of street smarts or people skills, but not everyone is fortunate enough to be scholastically smart. Having said that the street smarts are a different animal and learning is useful but very hard to attend, and keep attending. Unless you have no choice.

We are so similar……….

and so very different. I struggle with social arenas when a group of people are speaking of history or science, geography and even poetry.

I know nothing of this. Never learned algebra or took science, did not have the opportunity to learn proper English. As simple as the structure of a sentence. My grammar is still elementary, but if my message magically does come across, then I am happy. It’s irrelevant what negativity comes my way because of it.

Where are your greatest strengths?

  • 100% people skills
  • 0% intuition
  • 0% school smarts
  • 0% creativity
  • 0% self defence
  • 0% knowing how to deal with uncomfortable situations
  • 0% directing people
  • 0% confrontation
  • 0% a specific area in education
  • 0% the use of the English language, or others

1 person has voted in this poll.

let’s step back a minute

so what’s my point? No, not as usual to share my challenges, although I have done some of this already.

I was thinking about this as I began to write it. What is my point?

Simple, once I get honest about it. It’s to ask for your help, experiences, knowledge, links etc to further educate myself in English.

Now that I am publishing books, and have an amazing editor, I still would like to understand grammar.

I am not able to attend a school here due to health restrictions. Truthfully, the more I research the more confused I get.

I am moving at warp speed

with nothing to hang onto. Not any advice is intended when I share how street and self education benefited me.

Somehow after numerous factory and smutty jobs, I was determined to enter the corporate world. Face mostly men with honesty and confident in my desires. This honesty gifted me with a 25 year, print and broadcast producing career globally at, Advertising Agencies. Full time for 25 years, not burning one bridge.

I am a six figure employee, and that is not my reward. I worked hard to learn the business and excelled for doing so. I work with charities for children and runaways.

I am not sure what drives me, but I think it has much to do with shame; trying to prove I am no less than anyone else. Ironic, I am the same and do very well.

Trick is I never knew I would be a writer. Just as I have approached my career, I need to progress by understanding English and learn to write like me. Any advice?

I am a unique case I know. So much so if I could go back and trade my global career for schooling, I would not. This is not for many and school is so important, believe I feel its confusion of next steps.

Did you like school?

  • 0% yes
  • 100% no

1 person has voted in this poll.

OK Break

watch the school of fish again, tranquil break from hard work that I see most of writers accomplishing here. So much talent and such a great site.

Seems far fetched……

Street Smart and School Dumb. Why?

My objective here is to share my own experiences, having had to leave school at 14, and forced to hold my own.

Like you, life experiences shaped all of us who we are. Unlike you, I didn’t get to learn the books or various subjects. Therefore, this is what you must learn on the streets. It is that concrete where I still am most successful and that concrete mayhem where I fit in best.

In your world I struggle, smile and nod. Many times not having a clue about grammar or Shakespeare, politics or history. I nod, not adding to the conversation because the hard fact is, I have no clue what you are talking about.

And anything is possible. At the end of this Hub remember someone with no education or school smarts wrote a Hub. Anything is possible.

There are School Smarts and there are Street Smarts. Each of us hold one or the other, but cannot posses both.

That’s not exactly true. We all possess survival smarts, and some more than others, so therefore you can posses both. I mean not equally, or in the same type of way.

I should define quickly what I mean by each.

School smarts refers to book smart, scholastically smart, study smart, knowledge of many topics, academic smart, intellectual, educated and cultivated.

For most of us, that again, means a lot of education. The school kind.

Street smarts refers to more of a survival instinct or rather capability, the means to attain people skills, regardless of to whom, practice not just caution but be proactive in self awareness, manipulation, truth, practical living, how to live life, bargaining, keeping yourself entertained by entertaining others, living on next to nothing, etiquette never exposed to, when needed, lie, wise, be driven and determined, feeling you have a purpose and finally, finding your own.

On your own.

My Education, like few of us, came straight from the streets.

Make no mistake about it. I have no regrets. Whether optional choices or governed direction. I stand firm where I am, and am, who I am, because of everything that brought me here.

I KNOW TODAY; THINGS DO NOT CHANGE, WE CHANGE.

That, in itself, is my life’s biggest lesson.

**Having not even explained myself, I want you to know I am a strong believer in Education. I believe it also to be critical and crucial for the success of any person’s development and potential. I do wish I had of not given up, and had got an education myself.

I have, like you, lived more than a few types of lives. Learned a few lessons, just in another, round-about way, I’ll say. So lets go, come on, this way……………….We all have lived really, this is just my story of what I have learned and how I did. I have lived life to it’s fullest, what a gift.

School History of Events – The Proposal

It started when I turned 14 years old. I was given a very judgmental choice to re-enter school. Because I had just attended a 30 day rehab program the Board of Education gave me this option; (given now at 14 I was some sort of criminal or something);

I could re do grade 8 (disregarding having already moved half the year into grade 9), but then re-enter next year and start grade 9 again. Check this out – they actually gave me option B which consisted of leaving immediately and permanently. I would be given all credits in good standing up to and the completion of grade 10.

Feeling like a maggot anyways, I took the deal, emptied my sparse locker and had no idea what that actually meant. Also how very wrong of the School Board it was and how very scared I was going to get.

By the way, I would learn later that my first life lesson would realize; I can wait to make a decision. I had the right to question but allowed them to intimidate me when in fact I was better now than ever. To feel confident that I deserve exactly what every other student did. I was no different, just sick. It did however take me a few years to realize how large of a lesson this actually was.

3 weeks after school dissolved I had to get working;

Age is compulsory, wisdom is optional.

Holding my own from such a young age has given me wisdom which I consider my life lesson number 2. Wisdom in the form of people-wise, street-wise, skills-wise, survival-wise.

The truth is, we all learn how to live life. My point is, that how we live our lives are obviously based on what we are exposed to in the younger years of our life. This includes years of schooling to develop and gain potential.

I am street smart and school dumb. Some maybe school smart and street dumb. There are many similarities in both worlds. They have many differences as well.

A quiet, shy, demure young girl-instantly cast into the world made the passage from obscurity to working girl. I quickly developed into a chameleon that influenced my world by connecting with people emotionally, intellectually, and physically. This chameleon would grow and improve forever. Then ultimately saved my life.

This mystical, silent, magnetic quality I learned was called CHARISMA. And you have it. We all do, but I learned mostly from a few business men. I wanted what they had. Respect and inspiration and a ‘wanting’ to change peoples lives. Another lesson and, once developed, it helped me…

I actually made it and with respect!

Despite the illegal and lonely experiences I lived to endure, I somehow came up on top. Well, not somehow. It was due to pure determination and drive. On my part.

I did it. I was an executive traveling around the world standing side to side with the biggest Directors and Clients any Producer could ask for. Mostly, they respected me. But, I knew people and genuinely have much compassion for all people. That with a fearless humbled attitude there was me, making more money than I could spend.

I proved to myself once again, street smarts can, in my case, play a larger role, along with truth. More than anything book. The staff that I managed had MBA’s but I had multiple years of on-set experience and client relations.

Don’t get me wrong, it was hell getting there, but I love nothing more than a challenge and that also gave me my determination.

This Hub is about success. From any walk of life. Anything is possible. This I now know. It is also for a cry for help on which direction I should take.

What means did you receive your education?

  • 0% schools and institutions
  • 0% home schooling
  • 100% Streets

1 person has voted in this poll.

And anything is possible. At the end of this Hub remember someone with no education or school smarts wrote a Hub. Anything is possible.

My situation took me places only dreams are made of, and to crack houses only armed guys hung at. I believe my drug addiction back through those years played both a good and bad influence. Rather a good and terrifying ride.

There are School Smarts and there are Street Smarts. Each of us hold one or the other, but cannot posses both.

That’s not exactly true. We all possess survival smarts, and some more than others, so therefore you can posses both. I mean not equally, or in the same type of way.

I should define quickly what I mean by each.

School smarts refers to book smart, scholastically smart, study smart, knowledge of many topics, academic smart, intellectual, educated and cultivated.

For most of us, that again, means a lot of education. The school kind.

Street smarts refers to more of a survival instinct or rather capability, the means to attain people skills, regardless of to whom, practice not just caution but be proactive in self awareness, manipulation, truth, practical living, how to live life, bargaining, keeping yourself entertained by entertaining others, living on next to nothing, etiquette n

Street Smarts: An All-Purpose Tool Kit for Entrepreneurs
Amazon Price: $8.55
List Price: $16.00
Street Smarts: High Probability Short-Term Trading Strategies
Amazon Price: $165.00
List Price: $175.00
Street Smarts: Beyond the Diploma
Amazon Price: $12.94
List Price: $19.95

Did you finish school?

  • 0% yes
  • 100% no

1 person has voted in this poll.

Do you have an education you are satisfied with?

  • 100% yes
  • 0% no
  • 0% plan for more

1 person has voted in this poll.

To Recap

As a recap, these were some of my street schooling lessons and principles that I obtained from the streets. Similar to your school learning’s, just at a different pace and on different subjects, slightly. :o)

  • I have the same rights as everyone else and shouldn’t feel less than because I was living a very different lives than the other kids. Don’t allow people to intimidate you.
  • Wisdom. People wise, street wise.
  • Charisma. A tool for survival and forming a personality for life. The beginnings of a knowing a different type of people-wise.
  • Direction. Discovering this is something I had to and understand how to get it let alone follow it. Blessed with DETERMINATION and DRIVE. From where, I believe my mothers influence as a survivor herself.
  • Being taken advantage of over and over again and learning how not to be. This was very difficult for me.
  • Survival, under the worst circumstances imaginable and on my own. This is where I learned most of my street smarts directly.
  • There are no free rides and nothing comes without a price. Not from resentment but from Fact.
  • There are second chances and I learned this the hard way but received a gift n the end. The knowledge of knowing this up front.
  • The truth will set you free. For sure. It builds confidence and integrity as well. Got me from a lot of bad situations when you would have thought the reverse would be true.
  • Each day is a gift for me, and I do feel it everyday. This has taught me the true meaning of gratitude.
Leave a Reply

Mythbroakia

STAY MYSTIFIED!

julie chicklitasaurus

RAWResome books, stories & ideas for women

Just a tad more than Mounties, Beavers and Maple Syrup

Canada needs to stick out..one website at a time

STATEMENT TORONTO

WHO'S WHO IN THE BIG SMOKE!

Steve Emmett

humanist, celebrant, writer, speaker

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

C3ns0rd's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Trainee Drug Boy

My thoughts and reflections of being a volunteer drug-worker and seeking employment

Press Flix

Press Flix provide updated podcast and app reviews on trending topics of technology, also opportunities to motivate and inspire a connected generation.

UltimateDollarClicks

We have some of the best offers in the industry with very good payout in our network that will help you generate more revenue from you existing or new traffic. We work directly with the merchants and bring you with latest and high payouts. If you have questions, please feel free to contact me. I have enclosed my contact information so you can send me your comments, suggestions, and inquiries at any time. I am really very excited to bring you on board and be part of fast growing network.

Discombobulated Musings of a Scorpio Diva

Inspired Creativity Expressed Through the Art of the Written Word

The Paleo Secret

Eating well and living well, just like you were built to! It's not a secret any more..

shopping 99

A fine WordPress.com site

The Window In The Basement

a writer's blog, by Jeff Ambrose

The Indie Book Writers Blog | Self Publishing | Get Published

Writing, Self Publishing, Book Marketing, Bookselling

